Connect with us






HOW MANY ICE AGE MOVIES ARE THERE? The Ice Age film series has captivated audiences of all ages with its endearing characters, humour, and heartwarming adventures set in the prehistoric era. Since its inception, this beloved animated franchise has expanded with numerous installments, each contributing to the lovable and chilly world of the Ice Age. In this article, we delve into the icy realm and unravel the answer to the burning question: 

How many Ice Age movies are there?

I. The Dawn of the Ice Age

Before we delve into the movie count, it’s important to understand the franchise’s roots. The first Ice Age movie debuted in 2002 and was produced by Blue Sky Studios and distributed by 20th Century Fox. Directed by Chris Wedge and Carlos Saldanha, this animated gem introduced audiences to a group of unique and unlikely prehistoric heroes on a quest to survive the perils of the Ice Age.

II. The Ice Age Movie Saga Unleashed

Ice Age (2002)

The original Ice Age film sets the stage for the captivating journey ahead. It follows the adventures of Manny, a woolly mammoth; Sid, a sloth; and Diego, a sabre-toothed tiger, as they band together to return a lost human baby to its tribe.

The Meltdown (2006)

Four years after the first instalment, the saga continued with Ice Age: The Meltdown. As the Ice Age ends, the gang must confront the impending flood caused by the melting ice. Alongside the familiar trio, a female mammoth, and her possum brothers, Crash and Eddie. The Meltdown further expanded the franchise’s universe and explored family, friendship, and acceptance themes. 


Dawn of the Dinosaurs (2009)

In Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs, the lovable characters venture into a hidden world beneath the ice where dinosaurs still roam. Manny and Ellie are preparing for the birth of their baby, while Sid embarks on his adventure after adopting three dinosaur eggs.

Continental Drift (2012)

Continental Drift takes our heroes on a nautical journey after a continental shift separates them from their families. Manny, Sid, Diego,and their newfound pirate friends encounter dangers and obstacles in their quest to reunite with their loved ones.

Collision Course (2016)

Collision Course, brings intergalactic adventure. Scrat’s pursuit of his elusive acorn sets off a chain of events threatening the world. As meteorites hurtle toward Earth, the gang embarks on a cosmic mission to save themselves and prevent a cataclysmic disaster.

III. Beyond the Movies: 

Ice Age Spin-offs and Shorts

Apart from the core movie series,the Ice Age franchise has spawned various spin-offs and short films, expanding the universe and offering additional content for fans. Here are a few notable additions:

Surviving Sid (2008)

Surviving Sid is a short film that focuses on Sid’s babysitting mishaps when he is entrusted with looking after eggs.This amusing adventure sheds light on Sid’s endearing yet clumsy nature.

Scrat’s Continental Crack-Up (2010)

This short film centers around everyone’s favorite acorn-obsessed squirrel, Scrat. In Scrat’s Continental Crack-Up, Scrat’s pursuit of his beloved acorn leads to the division of the continents, setting the stage for the events in Ice Age: Continental Drift.

Scrat’s Continental Crack-Up:

 Part 2 (2011)

Continuing the hilarious escapades of Scrat, this short film serves as a bridge between Ice Age: Continental Drift and Ice Age:Collision Course. Scrat’s relentless pursuit of his acorn inadvertently triggers a cosmic disaster.

Ice Age:

 A Mammoth Christmas (2011)

A Mammoth Christmas is a heartwarming holiday special where Sid accidentally destroys Manny’s favorite holiday decorations. To make amends, Sid embarks on a journey to the North Pole to convince Santa Claus that Manny is on the nice list.